Changing expectations

I am currently reading on the parable of the banquet and the next item on my list is John Dominic Crossan’s “The Hermeneutical Jesus”, Michigan Quarterly Review 22, no. 3 (1983): 237-49. I pulled my copy out of the filing system and found that it was a truly horrible photocopy. You know the kind – pale, mottled text, two pages to a sheet with a black section in the middle obscuring the ends of the lines. My heart sank and then it occurred to me that maybe one of the libraries I can use has on-line access to Michigan Quarterly Review, and sure enough, I can get access to it back to 1999 through Proquest, or back to its first issue in 1962 through Free E-Journals. I had never heard of Free E-Journals before, but yes, there it was, with beautiful, clear print, one page to a sheet so I can write comments around the text and no black bits!!

The only catch is that in order to print through Free E-Journals, you have to load a page at a time in your browser window, then click the Print icon on the page, which opens a new tab from which you need to CTRL-P to get it to print. “How amazingly tedious!” I thought. “Why can’t I just print the whole article at once? What pain that that I can’t double side it without going through some amazingly complex process that is sure to mean that I’ll end up with pages printed upside down.”

And then I thought just how amazing it is that at 8 pm on a Sunday evening from the comfort of my home study, I can print a nice, easy to read copy of journal article using my own printer, instead of having to wait until the library opens and stand by a photocopier and get the black line, or wait for an interlibrary loan request to come back to me, probably with the black line. I love the internet! 🙂

2 thoughts on “Changing expectations

  1. It is a pleasure to read how thorough your research on GTh is, Judy, and I’m glad the internet furnished access to Crossan’s article for you. Thanks also for the mentions of the sites that provided the access. GTh saying 64 is another test-case in the relation of synoptic material to its presentation of Jesus’ teaching. Myself, I would think the vagaries of oral tradition explain the differences. F.F. Bruce (‘Jesus and Christian Origins Outside the New Testament,’ p.139) calls attention to the similarity of Zech 14:21b to the conclusion or application of the GTh parable at v. 12, “and there shall no longer be traders in the house of the Lord of hosts on that day,” which indicates a Jewish/apocalyptic context for the parable. DeConick (‘The Original Gospel of Thomas in Translation,’ p. 212f) doesn’t mention this parallel (though it would bolster her case).

  2. Paul, I think I agree with you, but it’s a fascinating trio of texts and I may think something else by the time I have finished reading and analysing. Thanks for the information about Zech from FF Bruce. He isn’t someone who immediately comes to my mind when I think about extra-canonical texts. 🙂

Leave a Reply

