This and that

First, I have been re-reading some of my earlier posts and have been doing a little editing and tagging. I am not sure if this has resulted in the posts popping up again for those who subscribe to this blog by RSS etc. If you have been getting notices about new posts and seen that you’ve read them before, this is the reason why.

Second, Chris Skinner has just started blogging about Simon Gathercole’s new book on Thomas over at Peje Iesous. I am looking forward to hearing what he has to say.

Third, the reason I was going back through old posts was to see how far I had got through my series of notes on commentaries on Thomas. (The answer is not far – I have done DeConick, Nordsieck and Kasser and a bit of an outline of Uwe-Karsten Plisch’s book in the initial post about commentaries). The reason for this is that I am in the process of reading Petr Pokorny’s A Commentary on the Gospel of Thomas: From Interpretations to the Interpreted (T&T Clark Jewish and Christian Texts Series: New York, 2009). There don’t seem to be terribly many reviews of it in journals and I find it interesting, so am planning on posting on it in the next little while.

3 thoughts on “This and that

  1. Judy, when I was writing my book recently, I found that there was next to nothing on Pokorny’s book. In fact, I don’t discuss his views at all (though he is listed in a footnote). I’ll be interested in what you have to say.

    CWS

  2. Thanks, Chris. All I could find (although I didn’t do an exhaustive search) was one review by Marvin Meyer in, I think, the Catholic Biblical Quarterly. Pokorny spends a significant amount of space in the front material looking at the relationship between Thomas and the canon, which is unusual.

Leave a Reply

