Five women scholars who have most influenced me

OK.  Now onto the meme Mike tagged me with – in no particular order, and lots more than five, edited so that I give a little more info about each:

  • Morna Hooker – New Testament – she uses interesting imagery in her writing and does good biblical studies.  Has presented at Greenbelt, so not just an academic.  My favourite work of hers is  “On Using the Wrong Tool.” Theology 75 (1972): 570-81.
  • Marjorie Procter-Smith – liturgy – I used her  In her own rite: constructing feminist liturgical tradition. (Nashville: Abingdon Press. 1990.) as the basis for my Masters Qualifying thesis and it changed radically how I think about liturgy
  • Elizabeth J Smith – liturgy – we were at the United Faculty of Theology as undergrads at the same time and then she went to the US and got a PhD and I had a baby and became a rural minister. She supervised my first attempt at a Masters, which I had to give up when I changed jobs and got too busy. She had the task of helping me change my writing style from one that worked for articles in the campus student magazine to one that would pass muster in academia.  She assured me that I couldn’t use “gut feeling” in a masters’ thesis, even if I did have it in inverted commas. “Crafting and Singing Hymns in Australia” in Stephen Burns and Anita Monro (eds) Christian Worship in Australia.  Strathfield, St Pauls Publications, 2009. 183-193 is really worth reading.
  • Phyllis Trible – theology – God and the Rhetoric of Sexuality. Overtures to biblical theology, [2]. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1978 – it’s about language, so what’s  not to like;  Texts of Terror: Literary-Feminist Readings of Biblical Narratives. Overtures to Biblical theology, 13. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1984. Chilling and thought provoking, but hopeful.
  • Rosemary Radford Reuther – theology – Sexism and God-Talk: Toward a Feminist Theology. Boston: Beacon Press, 1983. – language again.
  • Sallie McFague – theology –  Models of God: Theology for an Ecological, Nuclear Age. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1987 and Metaphorical Theology: Models of God in Religious Language. Philadelphia: Fortress Press, 1982. I have no idea why I haven’t read anything more recent, because I really like the way she writes and ecofeminism is an area that really interests me.
  • Elizabeth Johnson – theology – She Who Is: The Mystery of God in Feminist Theological Discourse. New York: Crossroad, 1992.
  • April DeConick – early christianity – Recovering the Original Gospel of Thomas: A History of the Gospel and its Growth. London: T&T Clark, 2005. and The Original Gospel of Thomas in Translation, With a Commentary and New English Translation of the Complete Gospel. Library of New Testament Studies. Vol. 287. London: T & T Clark, 2006, but also for giving me the courage to speak in my own voice and own my own opinions, rather than staying with the passive voice.
  • Majella Franzmann – early christianity – no publications in particular, but for modelling a way of doing academic presentations that is lively and interesting and for encouraging me to take something I could do well and explore it further.  Without Majella, I would not be doing doctoral studies.
  • Judith Plaskow – theology – Standing Again at Sinai: Judaism from a Feminist Perspective. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1990 and the quote I use as my signature file, from the first multifaith global university chaplains’ conference in Vancouver in 2000 “Politics is the work we do to keep the world safe for our spirituality.” She and I share an allergy to tourist traps.
  • Carol Christ – theology – Christ, Carol P., and Judith Plaskow. Womanspirit Rising: A Feminist Reader in Religion. San Francisco: Harper & Row, 1979. My introduction to feminist theology.
  • Dorothy McRae-McMahon – liturgy – again, no publication in particular, but she writes beautiful liturgical material that really speaks to me.
  • Karen Armstrong – The Battle for God. New York: Alfred A. Knopf, 2000.
  • Karen King – What is Gnosticism? Cambridge, MA: Belknap Press of Harvard University Press, 2003.
  • Luise Schottroff – New Testament – now that spelled her name correctly. The Parables of Jesus. Minneapolis: Fortress Press, 2006. Made me rethink my approach to parables.  Like I really needed that when I thought I had my methodology all sewn up.

and I have actually met six of these women!

One thought on “Five women scholars who have most influenced me

  1. Pingback: Female Scholars Meme « The Jesus Memoirs

Leave a Reply

