The things you take for granted

Here I am in Auckland. My watch tells me it’s 10.24 pm and my computer which is still on Australian Eastern Standard time tells me it’s only 8.24. OTOH, having been up since 5 am and awake since 4, my body is fairly keen to believe my watch rather than my computer. : -)

Spoke to my brother about getting out to his place on Friday and he tells me that I need to catch the train to Papakura or Pukekohe station. I am good at spelling, but had to ask how both of those were spelled, because I do not totally have my head around Maori spelling conventions. I do know that ‘wh’ is pronounced ‘f’, so the powhiri I’m attending tomorrow is actually a PO-fear-ee, although I had the accent on the wrong syllable until I spoke to my brother. I’m quite good at Australian Aboriginal names, but I’m going to have to work on the Maori ones.

Since I gather that it is almost obligatory to include photos of your motel room on your blog when you attend an SBL conference, here are two photos of my room. It’s on the 15th floor and I think it has an interesting view, but it’s a bit hard to tell when you don’t arrive until after dark. It will also be interesting to see what it’s like to sleep in – the bedding appears to have some eccentricities and there’s a bit more traffic noise than this “regional resident” is used to.

one end of my room

one end of my room

So, now I think I’ll believe my watch and go off to bed and hope I wake up at a sensible hour in the morning!

the other end of my room

the other end of my room

Leave a Reply

